Maturing in Christ

My little boy told me the other day … ‘I grew last night, Mom.’  I said, ‘You did?  How do you know?’  His reply, ‘My knees hurt.’  Of course, being the youngest, he’s heard his brother and sister speak of growing pains, so he assumes that the pain he feels is just that .. he grew.  I’ve been feeling that way of late too, only it’s not been my stature, it’s been my spiritual growth.

Unlike my son, I didn’t necessarily recognize that some of the small pains I’ve been experiencing was me growing, but now, just a few short days afterwards, I can honestly say, I feel taller.  I feel as though I’ve grown.

One of the lessons that Jesus has been working on me of late is my responsibility to others.  I’m pretty certain that this is something, like children, that we don’t fully understand until we’ve grown and matured a bit.

I can only speak from my frame of reference; the things I’ve experienced and that have been revealed to me.  However, it seems that Christ has first really taken time to work on me.  As much as I was ready to jump in and help others, truth-be-told, He’s constantly spent most of the time healing my wounds, revealing my insecurities and flaws, and helping me to see where I need growth.  Somehow, despite my driven focus to live and do according to what I think is right, He has slowly and methodically changed my way of thinking.  The best part, He has done it at His pace and in His timing and somehow, it has always come in Love.  Wow!  What an amazing God I serve!

As I mentioned though, as of late, God has been opening my eyes to a new lesson of being responsible towards one another.  It’s easy to look around and see how society and the World, and Christians too, tend to have a ‘I’ll live my life the way I want without regard to others’ attitude.  This attitude doesn’t focus on anyone other than ourselves, but really, it doesn’t change our responsibility towards others.

‘The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law.’ Deut 29:29 KJV

I’m so thankful today that God has taken the approach with me that He has.  He has allowed me the room to make some mistakes.  The more I get to know Him, the more I realize that He really does have expectations for us and how we are to live our lives.  I’m certain I haven’t got it all figured out yet, but today, I am most thankful for all the ‘growing pains’ I’ve experienced.  I can honestly look back now and see how each and every trial He has brought me through helped me to gain a better understanding of His love, mercy, and grace.

He really does have a handle on all the things we think we need to know or need to understand but simply don’t yet.  What a blessed assurance I have in Christ!

‘For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.’  1 Phil 1:6 NAS

Like my son, I can honestly say with a big confident grin, ‘Yep.  I grew.’

Praise God!

Leave a Reply

