Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Have you ever watched someone sitting between a rock a hard place?  They don’t know Christ, and they aren’t even ready to hear about Him yet.  However, they are in deep trouble, but the devil has done such a fine job of pushing them down every time they try to get back up that they sit there .. defeated.  All the while, the bills continue to pile up, the problems come on stronger, and the depression comes over even stronger.

God has given me a heart for these people.  I can see their circumstances and see that yes, many of their problems were caused by poor decision.  However, I can also see how the lack of mercy from others in their lives has driven them deeper into the hole bearing a burden much greater than what their mistake really deserved.

The hard part for me is looking, knowing Jesus put them in my path, and wondering, ‘Okay, now what?’  I don’t believe in hand outs, I believe in hand ups.  I believe in encouraging and helping people to walk on their own.  However, I can’t help but wonder, are they going to make it?  What’s it going to take to get them to realize that they really do have what it takes to get out of the mess they’re in?

I hope this all turns out for this most recent case God put in my path.  I really do.  I see so much hope .. so much potential.  I just know in my heart of hearts that God wants to do a work here.  I just hope that she’s ready to start taking His hand.

I suppose God has given His grace to sustain these individuals until that time.  I just pray that He gives me the wisdom to help where I can, be encouraging, but keep moving forward myself.  This ministry thing isn’t always a piece of cake.

Man .. we really need Jesus.  BAD!

 

 

One thought on “Between a Rock and a Hard Place

  1. sudebaker says:

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

