Won’t you please join me ….

I don’t know about you, but what I have done with my new-found ‘sight’ is look around.  Truthfully, I have always loved to see the lives where God is working.  I love to hear about the story of the young man who did some horrible things, but somehow, he continues to walk towards God, even though every step is a struggle.  I love to hear the young lady who every one else discounts as a little ‘off,’ be used in a moment of clarity as the gift of wisdom visits her during a group meeting.  I love to hear how the young couple who spent their spare time smoking weed had an unexpected visitor stop by that changed their entire life for the better.

I love to see the family who never had to deal with divorce.  I love to see how God has protected and honored their family.  Their children are well-behaved and love not just each other, but God as well.  These are the lives that remind me that God is alive and His spirit is working in lives.  These are the lives that remind me that hope is still here.  That God can still be found.

But then, there are the rest of the lives.  The lives where anger and forgiveness have settled.  Where the cycle of sin continues to reap its rewards over and over again.  Where the same ugly spirit that caused people to slaughter humans like cows has never really left; however the tool of choice today is our tongues.  While Jesus’ light is in me, I can’t help but notice all the ugliness around me.  As I’ve read other blogs,  I have come to the conclusion that I’m not the only one.

I know that God intends to use these situations to grow us, but I would be lying if I didn’t admit that almost daily I ask God, ‘How much longer?’  How many more lives have to go through the cycle of sin?  How many more lives have to suffer through divorce?  How many more lives have to suffer through rebellious children?  How many more lives have to suffer through bitterness at every turn?  And I’m only referring to the spiritual blood-shed.  How many more years do we as a human race have to continue to prove that we can’t do this without God?

I used to think .. a little longer God .. just wait a little longer.  There’s so much to do!  Now, I have come to the conclusion that if God were to wait for me to do my part, He would never come back.  I can’t help but feel enough is enough.  Yes, I’m still going to pray.  Yes, I’m still going to do my best to encourage others and allow others’ to encourage me.  Yes, I’m still going to continue to grow, going through each and every up and down .. getting back up after fall.  However, if I could appeal to those of you that consider themselves intercessors .. won’t you please join me in praying for Jesus’ return?

I don’t know about you, but I want to see the sin cycle stopped.

Leave a Reply

