The Perspective Truth will ALWAYS give you…

With all the controversy in our world, it’s hard not to find yourself wondering .. now which way did Jesus say to go? The scriptures speak very much of deception; Jesus warned of it several times.  Let’s let alone all the other religions of the world for a moment and focus where I believe truth to lie .. Christianity.  I’ve visited enough Christian congregations to know that every church believes it’s the one with truth and yet somehow, each perspective is different.  Forgive me for saying so, but if everyone is right and no one agrees on what exactly it looks like, then what does truth look like?

A couple years ago, I had a conversation with God where I asked Him to show me this enemy that kept attacking me.  I didn’t feel it was fair that I kept getting attacked without being able to see this ‘spiritual enemy’ that kept blind siding me.  Well, let me tell you, I got exactly what I asked for.  God gave me a first hand glimpse of deception.  While the ultimate lessons were a blessing in disguise, I would never wish that upon anyone.

Today, however, I’m going to share the revelation that I have regarding truth vs. deception.  First, admittedly, I’m like every other believer, I know I have the truth; quite possibly, my perspective is different than your own.  That being said, I can also say, I know that I am capable of being deceived.  God allowed me to experience the reality of the scripture, “For false Christs and false prophets will arise, and give signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect.” Mark 13:22

However, there is one thing that I have found to be consistent, despite which perspective you decide to consider.  Truth always leads back to the cross.  It’s like a Rubic’s cube.  No matter how many times you turn each cog, there is only one solution.  Which way did Jesus say to go?  If you ask me, I’m going to tell you, “To the cross, that’s which way.”  It’s at the cross that I am once again reminded that every once in a while, I either catch and use or deliberately pick up a mallet.  It’s at the cross that I’m reminded of what Jesus did.  It’s at the cross where I get the best perspective of truth;  a good look in the mirror to see my own faults.  It’s also where I get a reminder of just why I need His holy blood to cover my sins just as much as the guy next to me.  You know, the one I was determined to share truth with, even if it did mean cramming it down his throat?  Sigh …

We all have the capability of losing what is really the right perspective.  Dare I say it? … even of being deceived.  But then, didn’t Jesus shed His blood for everyone?  I know, I know .. heaven isn’t going to have homosexuality, drunkards, pot heads, liers … the list goes on and on.  I know.  Quite frankly, I haven’t figured out how He’s going to do it, but here’s what I do know.  Every time I start to point my finger at the guy who’s doing the thing on the list, turns out I have 3 fingers pointing right back at me reminding me that my judgmental spirit is just as much a part of the list of things that aren’t going to make it to heaven.  If Jesus had this planned out from the beginning, I’m thinking He’s probably wise enough to figure out how to sort us all out.  In the meantime, I figure my best perspective is looking in the mirror and keeping the cross in clear view.  If I get off track again, I know He’ll remind me to pick up the mirror and get back to the cross.

2 thoughts on “The Perspective Truth will ALWAYS give you…

  1. asd539 says:

    A very thought provoking blog and well written. God has been showing me the judgmental finger thing over and over again. I feel He wants me to blog on this very topic. He was so radical for us, we have to be radical for others. Wow, thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

